Painting – 10-29 Emerald Canticle Progress

Hey guys, long time no speak. I’ve been trying to clear out my painting queue for the upcoming Super Dungeon Explore release next year and I’ve realized my queue has gotten.. sizeable.

At last count, this is my queue:

  • 3 Stormcast Liberator Squads (14 units),
  • 2 Stormcast Retributor Squads (6 units),
  • 2 Stormcast Prosecutor Squads (6 units),
  • 2 Stormcast Lords on Drakkoth
  • 3 Stormcast Lord-Relictors
  • 1 Sylvaneth Wyldwood
  • 1 Chaos Warrior Squad (12 units) [REPAINT]
  • 1 Chaos Warrior Chosen squad (5 units) [REPAINT]
  • 1 Maggoth Lord
  • 1 Iron Hands Venerable Dreadnought
  • 2 Iron Hands Tactical Squads (10 units)
  • 1 Iron Hands Vanguard Squad (5 units)
  • 1 Iron Hands Sternguard Squad (5 units)
  • 1 Iron Hands Commander
  • 1 Iron Hands Chaplain
  • 1 Iron Hands Consul-Praevian
  • 1 Iron Hands Consul-Delegatus
  • 1 Imperial Titan Pilot
  • 1 Iron Hands Centurion
  • Entire Tau Army to Repaint (100+ figures, although luckily just Khorne Red Spray + Wash + Secondary Color)

So last night I started forcing myself to spend at least an hour doing one thing to the figures paint-wise and tackling one thing at a time. First up is the Stormcast Liberators from the Starter Box. I finished one squad of them for the Canticle, and painted one like Stone, but that left me with 14 more to even begin. So I’ve begun applying Balthasar Gold to them all.

First lesson about metallic paints: multiple coats are vital! The first coat of Balthasar always looks terrible, its runny, you can see black behind it, etc. I was tempted to overpaint it with thicker paint but decided to leave it and hit it with a second coat later. Thank the Emperor I did, it looks substantially better. Effectively the second coat is basically a light brushing of the color back onto it and doesn’t take near as much time as the first.

So tonight I managed to get 8 of the Liberators double basecoated. I still have 6 more to finish up tomorrow. Then I plan on washing them all down with Agrax Earthshade.


20151029_174310 20151029_174315 20151029_183231 20151029_200156 20151029_200246

Leave a Reply

