Modeling – Converting Stalker Bolters

I love Stalker-Pattern Bolters. I blame playing a ton of Warhammer 40k: Space Marine for that one. They are sniper rifle bolters, what is not to love? They are not super common in the 40k universe, but they are referenced enough to where it upsets me that they are not available on some sort of unit that is not Sergeant Telion. I went hunting for a guide the other day and found a couple interesting ones, but a lot of people seem to overlook a pretty easy alternative that looks perfect.


20150610_232946

Arguably two of the most common bits in existence. Beaten only by purity seals.

The creation of a Stalker Bolter is actually pretty simple, it uses two weapon bits that any Space Marine player should have an abundance of (or should have easy access to purchase.) Boltguns from any Space Marine set ever and Sniper Rifles from the Scout Sniper Squad. Tool-wise you need an exacto knife, I would also recommend an emery board or sand paper for a much better finish and easier gluing as well as a hand drill to drill the barrel.

stalker_pattern_bolter_by_leinglo-d5oo3fq

Second reference picture I used, courtesy of Leinglo on Deviantart.

The first step is to cut the suppressor off the front of the Sniper Rifle using your exacto knife. Now, most people will slap that suppressor right on the front of the bolter (or cut the barrel off and slap it on there.) I am not a fan of this, it does not match the Stalker-Pattern Bolters we have seen in style and that silencer is just too damn long for a Bolter. As you can see on Telion’s Stalker Bolter above, the suppressor is actually much smaller and stubby on the end.

The second step was a lot more tricky, and I about cut my finger off a few times because my exacto knife is dull, bent, and absolutely terrible. You need to cut the scope off of the sniper rifle by cutting right below it into the gun using the tip of your exacto knife at various locations. I then grabbed it using pliers and twisted it off towards the center to avoid having to cut more. Some people substitute the Space Marine Scopes that come in Tactical boxes and such, they work as an alternative, but I prefer the more direct sniper-scope look myself.

20150610_233941

Cut but not finished.

Now that they are cut off there is still a bit of work to do. Most people are fine with them looking rough, but for proper fitting and look I would highly, highly advise you take a sanding utensil of some sort to the bits. The suppressor end is likely pinched from where you cut and will need sanded flat. I would also advise sanding the edge slightly to round it out, nothing major though. You should also sand the back of the suppressor and end of the barrel both to give a flatter surface to glue, as there is usually a tiny bit of flash on barrels where the mold cuts in half for making them.

Securing the scope was a little harder. Bolters have a normal iron sight that is too tall and actually makes it so that the barrel will not fit on top without tilting. I sanded down the top of the bolter’s rail in general (more flash as well as to secure gluing surface) then hit the iron sight and sanded it down quite a bit. I wanted the Iron Sight to almost look like a bracket or support for the scope so I left a little bit left.

Sanding the scope itself was necessary due to how we cut it, and hopefully your cut job was decent enough to not absolutely require more than a quick rub down and clean up.

I would recommend drilling the suppressor BEFORE gluing it on the bolter. Due to the fact it is an external bit glued to the front it will not have as much support and will probably snap off while drilling. Simply line up your hand drill and go at it.

In other crafting professions there is a rule of “measure twice, cut once”, this applies to gluing as well. Line up the bits, hold them in place and make sure they sit right BEFORE starting to glue. You can easily ruin a creation by gluing first.

When you are ready glue the suppressor on the end of the bolter barrel. Line up the little line at the top of the suppressor with the rest of the bolter to find a center and make it look even. Then glue the scope to the top, resting it on top of the former iron sight and atop the center rail. It will be very uneven and rock slightly possibly depending on your cut/sand, this is alright as long as it stays put and lined up in the end. I glued lightly and put my fingers on both sides and looked down the bolter from front to back to insure it stayed put.

20150610_234500

The final result.

Viola, your own Stalker-Pattern Bolter. I think the result is solid, easy, and ready for slapping on a squad of Veterans or Tacticals or whatever the hell you want. Personally, I really want to build a stealthy Stalker-Bolter armed Tactical squad, but that is just me.

Telion would be proud I hope.


If you have any other Adeptes Astartes weapon patterns, ideas, or conversions you would like me to take a crack at, feel free to post in the comments below. I have got a couple other guides I have got planned (Astartes Shotguns and Astartes/Vengeance Grenade Launchers come to mind..)


20150611_015452 20150611_015503 20150611_015513 20150611_015523

3 thoughts on “Modeling – Converting Stalker Bolters”

  1. Nice, but you need to cut back the original barrel a little – at the moment the muzzle break is showing (holes in the sides) so the silencer wouldn’t work.

    Like

  2. Don't ever apologise for bag posts. I love seeing those creations. Love the whimsy of the first but my heart was beating slightly too fast at the final two, actually I love the addition of the ruffle. I would happily give up inks in my life if I could create such bags.I was wondering if all was well with your sissnr.WithesLyene

    Like

Leave a Reply

