Kitbash – Neophyte Scout Snipers

This kitbash was an easy one, and one I absolutely love the looks of. Its a simple head swap I saw once done for a normal Space Marine Scout Sergeant that I think makes an amazing set of Neophyte Scouts that look so much better than the usual stubby, ugly, fat-necked things Games Workshop put out.

Let’s start with the supplies shall we.

20150605_205809 20150605_205900 20150605_205915

First up is the core component set of these infantry, the 5th Edition Space Marine Scout Sniper set. I’d like to start by bringing up this might be one of my least favorite sprues Games Workshop puts out for a large variety of reasons. To start off, you can tell by looking at it that the sprues that it lacks detail and fancy bits for spicing things up. There’s a couple little parts (some grenade pouches, a seal or two, a bedroll, a tyranid skull) but they’re really basic and either attach weirdly or just don’t look great on the models. The only thing I think I’ll end up using is the grenade pouches on each unit.

20150605_205614

Second up is a set of Militarum Tempestus Scion Heads, I picked these up off Ebay from Wytchfire Studio for a pretty decent cost (head bits typically tend to either be high or low depending on demand, and sadly Scion Heads are high demand.)

20150605_213533

The kitbash is a simple helmet swap, replacing the stubby heads from the Scout Marine Sniper set with the Tempestus Helmets, which fit nearly perfectly on the Snipers. I would actually argue these heads work better than the typical Scout heads because they have a bulb on the back that makes them actually have a neck that allows you to angle the head or have it looking around instead of being flat.

20150605_210205

In my mock-up I kept running into issues with finding the right pair of legs and arms to match the torso. In my naivety I kept thinking these were actually poseable or had some freedom to design, and so I kept trying to position and tweak everything. It didn’t help the orange tack I use to mock up designs before assembly gave it some “wiggle room” and gave me some false hope. I cut out 4 pairs of legs before finding the right ones, and three guns.

20150605_21154420150605_211608

Compared to the rest of the amazing Space Marine Infantry ranges (even the normal Scout Marines) these sprues are very lacking, both in substance and pose-ability (if they can even be said to have that.) That being said, the Tempestus Helmets really add an awesome look to the Snipers and if you’re even more brave, you can add the Night Vision Goggles that come on the sprue for the Scout Sniper heads to the top of some of the Tempestus Helmets.

20150605_21124520150605_230100

I intend on replacing all of my Scouts and Scout Snipers with Tempestus Helmets in Clan Khorvaak. The semi-gas mask/technological vibe not only looks more realistic and fits well, it also makes them feel like they’re coming from a mining world (which is what Medusa, home of the Iron Hands and chief source of their recruits is.)

20150605_21134920150605_211329Total Cost of Kitbash

  • Space Marine Scout Sniper Box ($22.50)
  • Militarum Tempestus Scion Heads x7 ($11)
Leave a Reply

